Piers Anthony’s Mercycle

ImageMermaids? Good. Bicycles? Good. This is actually a really great book, that almost never was. Piers Anthony had to re-submit after some changes before this book could be published. It’s about a group of people who explore the ocean floor with common everyday bicycles all while slightly out of phase with our reality.

I read this book when I was a Freshman in High School, so my memory about it is a little fuzzy. I just remember the real world information from the book helping me in my 10th grade history class as we discussed an ancient civilization.

Some might claim that this book has no real literary value, but you know what? It was just fun. I really enjoyed it, and I love the weird looks that I get when I tell people that I like Mercycle.

Oh, P.S. There’s a Mermaid in this book.

Leave a Reply

