Switch

ImageI honestly didn’t enjoy Switch. It’s been a year since I’ve seen it, and I only watched it the one time on VHS… but it didn’t do much for me. The story is about how Steve Brooks (Perry King) was a womanizing man who ends up getting screwed over by some women he had screwed over, and he dies. God decides to give him one more chance on Earth because god thinks that Steve isn’t ready yet for Heaven. God sends Steve back as a woman, and gives him the task of finding one woman who truly loves Steve for who he is.

Steve, now being refereed to as Amanda (Ellen Barkin), is joined by Steve’s best  friend Walter (Jimmy Smits) as he attempts to settle some old scores, convince women that Steve wasn’t so bad, and of course get hit on.

I feel like this 1991 movie from HBO fell a little flat. It wasn’t funny enough? It wasn’t sexy enough? I just don’t know who the writer/director Blake Edwards trying to entertain with this. I don’t think it’s me being overly critical, as Rotten Tomatoes gives it a 33% while the audience score is 44%. If you want to watch Switch, don’t buy it on DVD for too much? I got my copy n VHS for $0.79, but I’ve recently seen the entire movie uploaded to youtube, which might be worth watching it on if you have some time to kill.

Leave a Reply

