I don’t understand #gamergate

So, what started out as a call to arms over outraged readers over websites/reviewers lack of transparency about how goods have been traded for positive reviews, is now about threatening schools over allowing Anita Sarkeesian to speak there about how women are portrayed in games? I know that this started from a Kotaku writter dating the creator of the indie game Depression Quest, Zoe Quinn. People then wanted his head, Kotaku was okay with what he did more or less, and yeah… for more information on Zoe, here’s an opinionated video about her as well as the over all situation from youtuber boogie2988

And for further information on what gamergate is, here is a pro-gamergate youtube video from LeoPirate

Bobs-Burgers-DarrylThere were basically a bunch of websites, as LeoPirate pointed out, that had posts about pondering if the gamer identity is dead. My opinion on that? SO? I feel sort of like Alice when she met Humpty Dumpty in Through the Looking-Glass

“Must a name mean something?” Alice asked doubtfully.

“Of course it must,” Humpty Dumpty said with a short laugh: “my name means the shape I am—and a good handsome shape it is, too. With a name like yours, you might be any shape, almost.” 

Maybe Darryl in Bob’s Burgers has the right idea. He is a self entitled ‘video game enthusiast.’ Maybe I want this child, or Aziz Ansari, to tell me how we are supposed to behave, as some sort of personal Yoda.

You know how Muslims get blamed for 911, and get a lot of guff over what Al-Qaeda and ISIS do? Well, I’m willing to admit that there is a strong possibility that some of the bigotry and misogyny attached to #gamergate is related to people who have strayed away from the original intention of the movement, journalists being transparent.

pokemonbreederAll of that being said, Islam is a long rooted belief for people, and Pac-Man only came out 30-some-odd-years ago! Some would use the Romeo and Juliet quote “A rose by any other name would smell as sweet” as an argument that it doesn’t matter if gamers change what they call themselves or not.

“I play video games. I take all articles about video games at face value, especially when Halo, Call of Duty, or whomever is also paying Kotaku or IGN’s bills with advertisements. I also hate sexism, and want characters, in general, to be as diverse and entertaining as possible. If I have a different opinion than anyone else, 9 times out of 10, I don’t even say anything, as I have better things to do or care about. While I used to be a gamer, RPing online about Pokemon, drawing fan art, cosplaying, and falling asleep in chairs from binge play, I can’t take claim to this title anymore. While I still do not 100% understand how and/or why things got to this point, as it started way before Zoe Quinn, the people behind #gamergate and the news site have made me realize that I don’t care enough to be a gamer anymore.”

-Sean Foley
Video Game Enthusiast

For another article about #gamergate, here is a decent one from a month ago: http://stirfriedpixels.com/2014/09/19/why-gamergate-has-nothing-to-do-with-games-or-the-gaming-industry/

Leave a Reply

