Was my most recent pose off also my last?

Was my most recent pose off also my last?

11599827145_5ed018af40_zToday,, I have something serious and personal that I want to talk about… last Saturday’s Pose Off at Louisianime 2015, which I used to announce to the attendees that I had been doing this event, created by my group, for the last 10 years. Anniversary was technically during Anime Matsuri, as it was officially named and performed that Easter Sunday, 2005 at Kamikaze-con in Houston, Tx after the sparks of it’s creation started at Ushi-con 4 in Austin, Tx.

Someone in the audience said something, and well… I wanted to let them know, that other people can do the pose off as well. and if there was one next year, and if I was the one to do it… we will see what happens. 10 years is along time. My friends who helped make it some what of a temporary staple at conventions have stopped doing it, and some of have even lost touch. I brought it back though when Louisianime was purchased by my friends, as it just made sense to do the event there so it wouldn’t fade away…

10406463_10154156284525526_2553810676406135192_nBut damn. 10 years. Will I be going to conventions in 10 more? Will I still be doing this when I’m 40? People have asked for permission to do the Pose Off as far away as Canada and Denmark. While I used to get upset seeing stuff like ‘Captain Morrigan’s Ultimate Pose Off Challenge, Kamikaze-con II coming back and attempting to have a dude do three pose offs in basically my back yard, I’m over all of it. I don’t need to do this event to ‘get a free badge,’ as I’ve never gotten one for just doing The Pose Off… not even from a former member of my group who owned Louisianime!

I did this event for everyone, myself included, to have a good time. Friends of mine told me that they were doing my event at a convention, and well… I was happy. We always wanted this thing to spread like wildfire, and if after 10 years it could somehow spread like wildfire so it can continue one without me to EVERY SINGLE CONVENTION, then honestly? That’s really for the best!

Does this mean that I’m done with either The Pose Off, or conventions even? I don’t know. I can sort of see a road in front of me where that’s the case, as I’ve lost a lot of my enthusiasm/vigor for the event, as well as the excuses for why I originally went to conventions, but does that really have to make this the end? I don’t think so quite yet. I’m reminded of this scene from Doctor Who’s 50th anniversary special:

I’m going to Fiesta Equestria a [Brony] convention in June, I’m planning to volunteer for Delta H con in August, and I want to attend Oni-con in October. Will I be at Louisianime 2016? … … … Probably? I mean, the owner of the convention sleeps in literally the room next to mine. Chances are pretty good. Will there be a Pose Off? Maybe someone will perform one that I can watch? Maybe help with? With my track record though, I’ll probably end up doing one. Until then…

See You Next Time, Space Cowboy.

Leave a Reply

