How to get into a creative field?

Lately, I’ve been thinking about getting into television, and possibly animation, but I had barely even an idea of where to start! Thank Odin for Twitter! Before I fell in love with the creator of Steven Universe, Rebecca Sugar,  or even the creator of Sailor Moon, Naoko Takeuchi, There was Gargoyles creator, Greg Weismanweismananimation01

Hurump!. Noah asked the question I was too afraid to ask anyone on top of the animation world’s Mt. Olympus! Damn it! And double damn that answer! After digging around on IMDB and Wikipedia, I learned that Mr. Weisman got his start actually at DC comics after he had tried to make it big in New York and failed, having to return to L.A., where he was discovered by someone at Disney, working on shows like Duck Tales, Raw Toonage, etc until in 1994 he got his big break with Gargoyles.

Yeah… so asking him how to break into animation/television isn’t that great of an idea, as you are basically asking “How do you become discovered for your dream job?” Which the only possible response there is try hard in a related field that you happen to get into? He did suggest focusing in certain areas though, and that full convo can be found here:

weismananimation02

Noah probably should have asked Rebecca Sugar I think, as her career path seems a little more forward. Her education went the route of visual arts, and she went from storyboard revisionist and is now the creator of Steven Universe! More info of course on her wikipedia article.

I have a friend who is going through animation classes as we speak, and I’m thinking about getting some certifications in visual communication as a start once I talk to a doctor about getting back on my meds for ADHD… so yeah. Baby step that stuff, I guess?

Anyways, I thought the whole thing was pretty coincidental, but pretty cool.

Leave a Reply

