Oni-Con 2015

Oni-Con 2015

P1140527Oni-con happened over last Halloween weekend, and it was quite enjoyable.

I’ve been going to said convention on and off since 2004, and I even remember helping one of the convention heads post fliers for the convention at our local community college when I was in an Anime Club with her.

I mention this, partially for full disclosure, but also so I could mention that this is a convention that’s hard for me to review. I used to go to a lot of panels, concerts, and cosplay shows going all the way back to Oni-con 1, which was much closer and my first convention. So if I missed a lot of the big things there, what did I attend? Panels with either Chris or Greg Ayres in them, sort of by accident?

Chris and Chris say
Chris and Chris say “Do it again” (Chris Ayres, Chris Bevins)

In order to make sure that I got great seats for my friends Family Feud game show, I attended the ‘It Gets Better Anime Con Edition,’ and that featured Greg Ayres as well as one of his friends whose name sadly escapes me. That had to be one of the best panels to be in, as even as an adult, we often are made to feel self conscious about loving the dorky things we do such as Cosplay, My Little Pony, or Whatever. Also, many people in such fandoms deal with depression, or are in the LBGT community, and people can be quite negative towards them. This was an amazing panel, that I sadly forgot to take any pictures or video from.

While waiting for yet another panel on Saturday, The Pose Off, I caught Chris Ayres and Chris Bevins panel Chris and Chris say “Do it again” which was a Q&A panel about being directors in the field of dubbing anime. Apparently there are a ton of directors in this field named Chris, so whenever there is an overlap, they tend to do this panel. Huh. It was pretty entertaining.

The last Ayres brother related thing I did was Greg’s rave on Saturday night, and that is pretty hit or miss with a lot of people. It’s always awesome to see guests who want to go above and beyond like this, but I’m not that huge of a fan of his performances.

P1140599Outside of the realm of The Brothers Ayres, I walked into a Steven Universe Ask panel right before Greg’s, and quickly decided to walk right back out after some of the fans stumbled on some questions.

I apparently can’t stomach these types of panels, in their defense, so they get a pass as I admit my bias against it.

My friend’s Family Feud panel started late, had major technical difficulties that were mostly not their fault, and largely due to the help of myself providing a white board w/ markers and providing SFX, the show went on. Despite all of that, the guests all seemed to have fun.

Most of my friends who were in charge of Family Feud were also involved with The Cosplay Formal on Saturday night. The music was mostly classical, with some appropriate Japanese music and a few more modern songs.

Speaking of the more modern day music, when the music changed to Frozen’s Let it go, instead of everyone sighing at the inclusion of such an over used song, all eyes turned to a beautiful Elsa cosplayer and her dancing partner as they blushingly danced the night away, as everyone sang along with the music.!

I sadly did not take video as extensively of this event as I would have liked to, as this was just a formal dance and not a prom such as last years formal. To see some videos from last years prom, go to the following: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLenvR8RYLJTOiFMe7b0ZYzyde7M6SeRJ3

I also have a few more short clips that can be found here:
https://youtu.be/o3iv8K2C4b0
https://youtu.be/uqHrcLilsto 

At every convention, you have to make your own fun at some point, and most of the time I did this by taking photos of cosplayers. Below are some of my favorite shots from just walking around.

For more photos from Oni-Con 2015, here’s all of the photos that I took, as well as the ones from the free photo shoots I posted about yesterday: https://www.flickr.com/photos/netsenshi/albums/72157658344231764

https://www.flickr.com/photos/netsenshi/albums/72157660651188842

When everything was all said and done, Oni-Con 2015 was a huge success, and I enjoyed hanging out with friends new and old. Here’s hoping that the weather is better next year!

Leave a Reply

