Video game rut

avatartwilightI own a PC, Wii U, 3DS, X-Box 360, PS3, and yet  I don’t really feel like really playing on any of them. After checking what games are coming out soon via GameFAQs, I don’t see anything. The last few games that I’ve played have sort of let me down in one way or another: Super Mario Maker, Super Mario 3D World, Super Smash Bros, Dead Rising 3, Dragon Ball Xenoverse, Ultra Street Fighter IV, Pokemon Omega Ruby, Pokemon Y, Super Mario 3d Land, Digimon All-Star Rumble, etc.

The last few games that I’ve really loved and beaten have been games such as: The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds and… Wow, Halo 4 came out in 2012 huh? Great campaign, multiplayer was kind of meh for it and Reach.

The only game that I’m sort of looking forward to that is coming out soon is Wii U’s Rodea The Sky Soldier, which will be a huge gamble for me if I will like it. I haven’t even played to completion the games that I have purchased in the last year or so, including BOTH Kingdom Hearts HD remasters, and Final Fantasy X/X-II which are games that I know that I like.

wpid-20130308_231926.jpgGames are expensive, and require the type of devotion towards them that I don’t find myself investing in these days, but I still love video games. I sort of feel like this is the end for me, as far as video games are concerned. Halo 5’s lack of couch co-op makes me not want to buy an Xbox One, and all of my fighting games are going ‘exclusive’ towards PS4. I’d purchase a PS4 for when Kingdom Hearts 3 comes out, but I just don’t know if I can be the same game player I was in 2005.

During that time, I literally locked myself in a room and played Kingdom Hearts 2 for days only coming out to go to work. I hung out with friends once? When Halo 3 came out in 2007, I quit working at GameStop partially to play the game! Also, you know, because working at GameStop wasn’t as awesome as one might think.

404screenshot3Then again, I can literally play Dead Rising 1, and to some extent it’s sequels before 3, any time of the week. I can play The Legend of Zelda: A Link To The Past like that as well.  Sonic Generations was fun, but didn’t have much lasting appeal.

I don’t know what my gaming future will look like, but I hope I can get out of this video game rut and play something really awesome sometime soon. Something that caters towards my interest to weird fantastical things, such as: Unicorns, Time Travel, Gender change, Alternate Universes, Mermaids, etc.

Oh well. Maybe Sailor Moon Crystal will be popular enough to get a game or two? That was a joke…

Leave a Reply

