IKKiCON

P1140848Last weekend was IKKiCON, in Austin, Tx. Full disclosure, IKKiCON has always had a special place in my heart due to the fact that a friend and I helped with the very first one. Because of this, my emotions are cloudy, and any attempt at a review would only lead me to the Dark Side.

They made great use of an old Ushi Con hotel that I haven’t been in since 2004! There was that quasi ‘I’ve been here right? Right?!’ moment.

There was apparently some scandal at the Cosplay Contest involving a guest sponsor, Hioshi Jackson being outed as some sort of fraud by e-celebrity YouTuber ProJared.

DSC00509
(on the right) Hioshi Jackson at Sleeping Samurai,

P1140976I mention the first two facts so there is full disclosure and transparency. Ethics in Anime convention blogging is very important to me. The surrounding area behind the hotel was beautiful, and gave room for some amazing photo shoots.

I already showed off my Free Photo Shoot in a previous post, but below is one of my favorite images from a shoot that I did.

P1140818

To sum up my feelings, the convention was a lot of fun, despite a few problems. If the convention hadn’t taken part in winter, I would recommend going to it if you get the chance.

Below are a few of my favorite pics from the convention. For more pictures, please check out my flickr album here: https://www.flickr.com/photos/netsenshi/albums/72157663017330002

Leave a Reply

