My Love of Darkstalkers

My Love of Darkstalkers

Darkstalkers_Resurrection_BBHoodDarkstalkers is a series that is very near and dear to me. Since the very first time I saw the terrible American cartoon, I knew there was something special about it. After diving deeper into the series via the anime, original Playstation games, and eventually Marvel vs. Capcom on Dreamcast, it clearly became one of my favorite fighting games from Capcom.

Darkstalkers, which originally came out in the arcade in 1994, utilized the same game engine that Street Fighter II had used after Capcom had asked their American branch what they could do with it. Thankfully, the original concept Capcom America had of a fighting game utilizing monster movie properties from Universal didn’t pan out, and we ended up with some of the most interesting original characters in a fighting game, at least for the games time.

SNKCapMatchGroupCapcom, and other companies, would later use these characters, and more importantly the sprites from the game, in many crossover games ranging from Super Puzzle Fighter II Turbo in 1996, all the way to Project X-Zone 2 (3DS) which came out this month on February 16, 2016.

Despite characters appearing in other fighting games such as Capcom vs. SNK 2 (Dreamcast/PS2/GC/Xbox), Tatsunoko vs. Capcom(Wii), and Ultimate Marvel vs. Capcom 3 (Xbox 360/PS3) Capcom has not released a game in the Darkstalkers series since 1998, not counting compilations and updates.

Darkstalkers was never as popular as Street Fighter. Sadly, the female characters are the only characters to majorly appear outside of their games, besides a few rare exceptions.

This saddens me, and while I have objected here on my blog loudly, all of the cosplay I saw at MAGFest this last weekend in Maryland made me extremely happy. Below is a gallery of Darkstalkers cosplayers, many of whom I later talked to for quite a while about our shared love of the series.

I have come to terms with the fact that Capcom may not know what to do with this beloved series, but what I haven’t come to terms with is the fact that people who see me taking photos seem to assume the worst of me for doing so.

“Be honest, this is just fap material for later, huh?”

*Sign* Who asks someone this? I reacted badly to the male onlooker who playfully asked me this question, but I do not feel bad.

I believe there will be a day that we see a new Darkstalkers game, of some sort. I am not sure if it will be soon or not, but until then, I’m glad that at least these lady cosplayers are keeping the series alive for now.

Leave a Reply

