Recording in dumpsters and stores

Dumpster diving is a term that is used to describe the act of searching for treasure in dumpsters. A very long time ago, I was a stupid child who did dangerous and disgusting things that embarrass me to admit that I did. For example, I used to dive into the paper recycling bin at my old Elementary School to get all of the old newspaper comics out of. Good not so clean fun, right? Before that, I would find stuff in actual dumpsters… I was sort of a pack rat. I still am, I suppose.

Recently, Gamestop has threatened legal actions against dumpster divers, as well as people who film inside of their stores, even if you are just filming the voices and using the audio of their employees. In some states, such as Texas, it’s legal, as explained in YouTuber BeatEmUps video below about his friend Damien.

As far as recording in a store goes, do not do that. You can film outside of a store from somewhere else, but not at the store. I remember using my Flip camera in 2009 at BestBuy when I was just taking a look at what Anime titles they had, and being told that I couldn’t film there.

It must be really hard to prevent people from recording stuff now that everyone has a camera in their pocket I bet.

Back in May, DEE davE was caught by the police diving into a GameSTOP dumpster, the Police caught him and his crew going through dumpsters, they were told that it is not illegal, and they just chatted for a bit.

Below is a video from OmarGoshTV where he actually went and tried to return the things he found in the dumpsters, and while it was entertaining, I could not help but notice that he asked the people at 5 Below and not the people from GameStop.

From what I know about GameStop, I really hope Omar is careful and doesn’t get sued over this set of videos.

So, is dumpster diving wrong? Should recording in stores be wrong? I’m not the one to answer these questions, but I can say one thing for certain… I sort of want to go diving after seeing this, and that’s probably not a good thing.

 

kick_the_can_by_netsenshi
I made this comic when I worked at a game store. Huh. Foresight? Irony? No frigging clue!
Leave a Reply

