Gen Z is more picture perfect than millennials

Gen Z is more picture perfect than millennials

97802-R1-12-13AIf there is one thing that Millennials had to suffer from that Generation Z will hopefully never have to have experienced, I’m glad disposable cameras is hopefully that.

Non-broadband internet is bad, don’t get me wrong, but look at this picture I took from 2006 on a Kodak disposable camera. The people in the shot are off centered despite how hard I tried to get things in the viewfinder, my friend’s eyes are closed, and my finger is slightly covering things! Gah! Even cropped, things aren’t much better.


Pictures always seemed to come out wider than what you had aimed at, and since the resolution isn’t the best, despite these images coming from an old CD, it’s hard to fix things in post. the above image’s light source, THE FRIGGING SUN, was terrible that day, and I know how to use the lighting better these days, but still… Contrast and Brightness controls can not save this picture. What could have? A SCREEN!

The real tragedy is the fact that these photos were taken in October 2006, 8 months before the first iPhone changed EVERYTHING.

I could argue that the archaic nature of the device used was fitting, but these were memories that were uncovered, blurry, and partially obscured. I am thankful that I had the foresight to back things up on a CD, as I did not trust physical media even then… which is odd, considering how phased out optical media is these days. Okay, some more from even further back…


Astro World from 2004ish? How was I supposed to know that it would close that next year in 2005?!?! And these are like, my only memories?! Scanned photos.. Even worse! Awesome.

Generation Z will also, for the most part, not know the JOY of having to convert VHS to DVD for family videos. Sheesh that sucked.

Leave a Reply

