Humble Negro Cemetery revisited

I recently revisited this old cemetery that was made a few years after Humble, Tx became a town in 1933. They voted to make the town ‘lily white,’ and forced black people to move out, including their dead. That’s why this cemetery exists, in a nut shell. For more information, here is my first post about the cemetery: https://netsenshi.wordpress.com/2013/04/20/humble-negro-cemetery/img_20160528_154152

I’ve gone back to this cemetery twice since then. Once on Memorial Day, 2014 and another time much after a lot of the rain we had in 2016.

img_20160528_153042I went there on Memorial Day to pay respect to the fallen African American soldiers who had fought in wars since World War I as well as to see if they had put the flag out. After hopping the gate, as I refuse to go through the woods by the train tracks do to seeing the camps of homeless people my first time, I was immediately greated with the sight of a long haired homeless man with no shirt taking a poop. Awesome. I then go further into the cemetery proper. The man joined me, and I made sure to keep a hand in my pocket clutching my cell phone just in case. He had no idea that this place had existed, and I then had to play travel guide as I explained how there used to be a sawmille and a kerosine refinery and how when Humble became a city, one of it’s founders allowed African Americans to bury their dead here.

It was an awkward lesson, and I did leave out certain unsettling and more modern history, but it over all wasn’t terrible. There was no photos from this encounter since it was a spur of the moment idea after work, and due to the homeless man being there.

The second time that I went, it was after they had done some major clearing of the land, and most of the 2016 rains that caused the flooding.img_20160528_153621

My roommate and I had to walk very carefully through the cemetery grounds as we looked at the former structures. The area without all of the trees was a bit underwhelming considering my first visit to the area. Something about being able to see new subdivisions just seems like a perversion of the area?

Now that this place is less hidden, the homeless population seems to no longer live alongside the train tracks, or at least I was never aware of their camp grounds this time.

img_20160528_153334

As weird as this visit was, all I can think was ‘How weird will this place become if more people start showing up here?’

It’s bound to happen, right? Our town’s shame being turned into a spectacle, when all I really ever wanted was a historical marker by the road. Oh well. Below are all of my photos from this visit. Stay tuned to my blog in case there is any more updates about this cemetery!

 

Leave a Reply

