Wayforward

shantae-usaThe very first game from Wayforward that I had ever heard of, was Shantae on the Game Boy Color. Now, they claim that it was the fact that everyone was buying Game Boy Advances at the time that made it a financial favor, as critics apparently loved the game. I never played that game, but I remember seeing ads for her game on magazines, and I even drew her once, as she had a really interesting look that you don’t see very often in games… that, and I was in… middle school?

shantaemermaids1I just beat Shantae: Half-Genie Hero, a game that I helped fund on Kickstarter back in September-October 2013. Thus far, I am 2:2 on crowdfunded games I’ve donated to actually coming out, and that is pretty awesome!

Wayforward is the same company that released Duck Tales: Remastered, Blood Rayne: Betrayal, Mighty Switch Force!, and a whole bunch of half hearted games that aren’t awesome like Adventure Time: Explore the Dungeon Because I Don’t Know!, Scooby Doo! & Looney Tunes Cartoon Universe: Adventure, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Danger of the Ooze.

Basically… Wayforward is an indie company that often makes a bunch of games for other companies in order to ultimately fund their own original IP’s like Shantae and Switch Force. Some of these games are great while others are well… not. You get a bad game when you give a company a small budget and not a lot of time to make their game. I can’t blame Wayforwad, as they made well… the previously mentioned Ducktales: Remastered.

double_dragon_neon_by_genzoman-d6nzt8pThe only game from Wayforward that I had completed from them was Double Dragon Neon. I got really close to finishing Blood Rayne: Betrayal, but I just could not beat the end guy… thankfully DDN was 2 player and much easier. DDN was very bro-gamer, and Linda Lash and her variant’s are a lot more umm… adult than I remember from the good old NES days.

I hope Wayforward focuses more on original IP’s via crowdfunding, and ultimately is allowed to pick better future projects to help keep the lights on, as they really can make a fun and beautiful game when they are allowed to!

Expect at least one more Shantae related post this week.

One thought on “Wayforward

Leave a Reply

