Blip.TV is going to delete my account.

ImageA friend of mine started a site a while back, http://www.funwithmirrors.com in order to do videos similar in style to That Guy With The Glasses. He wanted my help, and as luck would have it, I had just made a funny video. Making money for videos never fully sat right for me, but working retail vs. having fun and being paid by people who enjoyed my work seemed interesting.

The site started out all right, but while I had spare time, he had classes. I eventually stopped posting videos due to the fact that my videos were the only things being posted, and I guess I got depressed with how things were going in that aspect. I started posting again recently, thanks in part to one of the members of Transcendent Games allowing me to do Let’s Play’s of their game. 3/4ths of the Let’s Plays are done, and are up on my Blip account, but that last 1/4th can not be uploaded as of today, due to me violating the terms of use. Which term?

Image11. Prohibited Content: Videos that are not part of a high quality, original episodic web series can be removed at Blip’s sole discretion. Examples of content considered inconsistent with Blip’s definition of high quality, original episodic web series can include but are not limited to sermons, speeches, slide shows, webinars, screencasts, gameplay footage, tutorials, walkthroughs, meetings (corporate, community or government), personal (home movies, weddings, parties, vacations, etc.), music videos and content produced for other mediums (television, film, radio). Each episode must consist of original content created by the account holder.

Additionally, the terms of service require that you agree not to “use Blip to host videos which serve primarily to promote or support a business enterprise. This includes, but is not limited to commercials, testimonials, product demonstrations, product or service overviews, etc.”

ImageIt stings. There are groups that have stuff on blip that make things that are similar to what I produce. While my most popular video got over 900 people, I just wasn’t good enough.

I always tried to make my videos somewhat professional. I had opening credits on most of them… they always have title cards (which you can get in trouble for not having if you are a member of TGWTG), as well as credits.

I know my videos aren’t the best, but damn it, some of them I really enjoyed doing! So I have until November 7th to get my shit downloaded and go. I now know what it’s like to be evicted/canceled. AWESOME!

Leave a comment